The Fascinating World of Maps

I love maps. They are an extension of my love for books, which often contain maps — how much better can it get?!

 

My favorite online map resource is theDavid Rumsey Historical Map Collection

This extensive collection spans many categories and mediums over time. I can completely lose myself for hours as I browse and explore them. Here are just a couple of my many favorites:

 

 A Comparative Picture of the Principal Waterfalls in the World

 A Comparative Picture of the Principal Waterfalls in the World

 

Comparative Lengths of the Principal Rivers, and the Heights of the Principal Mountains of the World

 Comparative Lengths of the Principal Rivers, and the Heights of the Principal Mountains of the World

 

I recently ran across this one, which I had not noticed before.

 Atlas for the Blind 1837

MapForBlind1837

Printed without a single drop of ink and published for blind children before Braille had become widely used in the United States, this atlas is beautiful in its simplicity and intent. Its story is captivating.  

 

David Rumsey
David Rumsey amid items of his map, atlas and globe collection

I can’t possibly end this post without mentioning that in 2009 the gracious David Rumsey granted me a private tour of this collection. Oh, to be in the same room with these exquisite pieces of art and history and to gaze upon them first hand. It was definitely an experience for me that will be difficult to top!

 

 

 

Discover David Rumsey’s Map Collection for yourself and let me know which ones you like best. I bet you won’t be able to choose just one!

 

Always an adventure with the

Leave a response

